Мар 16, 2020

Swift — язык программирования от Apple

Frame 1 2 - Swift — язык программирования от Apple

Спрос на разработку мобильных приложений вырос в 2020 году до 189 миллиардов долларов. Учитывая, что в США более 65% смартфонов работают на iOS, стоит сделать выбор в пользу этой платформы. Создавая приложение, вы столкнетесь с выбором языка программирования. Лучшим вариантом станет нативный язык Swift, созданный Apple.

О новом языке

Swift — это язык программирования от компании Apple, который используют для разработки приложений под все девайсы на iOS и macOS. Компания Apple создала простой в понимании язык, который доступен даже для новичков. Именно благодаря этому он так популярен в качестве первого языка для изучения. 

Swift абсолютно уникален и является инструментом, который перевернул привычное программирование. Теперь написание кода стало простым и увлекательным процессом. Создатели вложили в новый язык современные функции, паттерны и известные фреймворки, а также сделали его безопасным.

Frame 2 19 1024x341 - Swift — язык программирования от Apple

История появления

Вице-президент по разработке ПО в компании Apple, Крейг Федериги, отметил, что основа для нового языка была заложена еще в далеких 90-х в платформе NeXT. Она была предшественником современных macOS и iOS. 

В 2010 году Крис Латтнер, начал разработку Swift и сотрудничал с программистами Apple. Вдохновением для написания удобного и понятного языка Swift стали Rust, Objective-C, Ruby, Haskell, C #, CLU, Python и тд.

Frame 2 20 1024x341 - Swift — язык программирования от Apple

В 2014 году Swift представили на конференции Apple Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) в качестве замены Objective-C. Компания хотела привлечь как можно больше новичков в сфере, которые пополнят ряды iOS разработчиков. Но также, Swift ориентирован и на опытных программистов, которые хотят совершенствовать свои навыки. Так, каждый зарегистрированный разработчик получил на конференции прототип языка и полное руководство на 500 страниц. «Язык программирования Swift» сейчас можно бесплатно скачать на iBook и официальном сайте Apple Inc.

Согласно исследованию Stack Overflow Developer Survey 2015 Swift завоевал первое место как «Самый любимый язык программирования». В 2019 году он все еще входит в первую десятку списков Stack Overflow и RedMonk.

Для каких устройств подходит язык

Swift — это родной язык для всех устройств Apple. Соответственно, он подходит для всех программ на iOS, ПО для MacOS, watchOS и даже tvOS. Поэтому если вы решили начать разработку приложений или ПО под устройства Apple, Swift — ваш маст-хэв. Хоть есть и кроссплатформенные продукты, нет ничего лучше, чем нативный язык. 

На Swift написаны такие известные приложения, как Procreate, Yahoo Weather, Doulingo, Airbnb, Kickstarter, LinkedIn, Kickstarter, Vimeo, Twitter, Khan Academy и это лишь некоторые примеры. 

Swift объединил в себе лучшее от современных языков программирования. Он позволяет разработать приложения любого уровня сложности: от примитивных игр до сложной операционной системы. Несмотря на популярность, у языка есть как преимущества, так и недостатки.

Frame 2 21 1024x341 - Swift — язык программирования от Apple

Преимущества Swift

Производительность

Создатели Swift поставили перед собой цель добиться лучших показателей по скорости и производительности. Как заявляет Apple, Swift в 2,6 раза быстрее Objective-C и в 8 раз быстрее, чем Python 2.7. Сейчас Цель, Apple стремится обогнать самый быстрый язык программирования С++.

Доступен для каждого

С 2015 года у Swift появился открытый исходный код, что способствовало популяризации языка. Разработчики могут начать работу с ним абсолютно бесплатно, более того, компания предоставляет подробный гайд для новичков. 

Видимый результат и обучение

Apple запустили приложение Swift Playgrounds для iPad, чтобы каждый мог в игровой форме начать изучать азы программирования. Оно помогает выучить основы, давая пользователю простые головоломки. Так изучение сложного программирования становится увлекательным и интерактивным процессом.

READ  Как понять, что вы и компания по разработке приложений создадите отличный продукт
Frame 2 24 1024x341 - Swift — язык программирования от Apple

Еще один плюс Swift Playgrounds — видимые результаты без запуска приложения. Можно экспериментировать с кодом и сразу видеть, что получится. Это значительно ускоряет разработку и устраняет мелкие ошибки еще во время написания кода. 

READ  Как найти действительно квалифицированных разработчиков для вашего приложения

Безопасность

Язык сам устраняет возможные ошибки еще до компиляции кода. Разработчики посчитали, что люди не могут предусмотреть каждую возможную проблему, и создателям стоит об этом позаботиться. Например, не нужно следить за доступом,  утечкой памяти и другими штатными ошибками. 

Понятный язык

Apple любят минимализм во всем. Свифт позволяет решить задачу минимальным количеством строк, в которых все логично и структурировано. Язык легко читается. Даже если разработчик не знаком со Swift, но знает любой другой язык, он сможет разобраться в коде.

Совместимость

Благодаря интеграции с библиотекой Objective-C (Objective-C Runtime Library) можно писать программы на Swift и Objective-C одновременно.

Управление памятью

Разработчикам больше не нужно самим управлять памятью и вести подсчет ссылок. За них это делает автоматический подсчет, что значительно уменьшает время и упрощает работу.

Frame 2 26 1024x341 - Swift — язык программирования от Apple

Потенциал

Swift относительно молодой язык. Благодаря открытому исходному коду Swift, Apple сделали шаг к тому чтобы он стал кроссплатформенный. Apple также обещает, что Swift будет доступен и на Windows. Технический гигант IBM так же сильно поспособствовал развитию языка. Компания представила тестовую среду Swift и дала ему доступ к облаку. Таким образом серверную часть Swift можно интегрировать со многими серверными инструментами.

Библиотеки

В Swift есть 74 встроенных функций, но разработчикам их порой не хватает. Здесь на помощь приходят сторонние фреймворки из библиотеки Swift. Они экономят время, предлагая готовый код для компонентов вашего приложения.

Недостатки Swift

Частые обновления

Swift довольно молодой язык. После каждого обновления разработчикам необходимо изучать новый материал для работы и переписывать код под новую версию. Но, глядя на более широкую картину, Swift ограничен собственными библиотеками, инструментами и обречен быть нестабильным после обновлений.

Совместимость

Это не только большой плюс, но и минус. Совместимость с Objective-C и C++ очень замедляет процесс разработки приложений и ПО.

Разработчики

Так как Swift — новичок среди таких гигантов, как JavaScript или C#, найти хорошего разработчика с опытом не так-то просто. Хотя сообщество Swift быстро растет, оно все еще значительно меньше по сравнению с любым другим языком с открытым исходным кодом. Согласно последнему опросу разработчиков StackOverflow, только 6,6 процента из 87,354 респондентов используют Swift.

Frame 2 25 1024x341 - Swift — язык программирования от Apple

Из-за того, что по-настоящему талантливых Swift разработчиков не много, стоимость их работы возрастает. В регионе Северной Америки самая высокая стоимость часовой оплаты разработчиков. Стоимость разработки под iOS может доходить и до 200 долларов в час. Если вы хотите найти квалифицированного разработчика, ознакомьтесь с нашей статьей, в которой мы рассказываем о тонкостях выбора местных и удаленных разработчиков.

Выводы

Сейчас нет ничего лучше, чем Swift для разработки продуктов на iOS. Стоит ли его изучать? Однозначно да. Этот язык станет отличным стартом для новичков благодаря простоте и учитывая то, что кадров в этой области не так много. Опытным разработчикам также будет легко со Swift, ведь для него взяли лучшие черты многих популярных языков. Взвесив все за и против можно сказать, что у Swift впереди большое будущее и широкая аудитория пользователей.

Mar 16, 2020

Apple’s programming language Swift

Frame 1 2 - Apple's programming language Swift

The demand for the development of mobile applications grew in 2020 to $189 billion. Considering that in the USA more than 65% of smartphones work on iOS, it is worth choosing this platform. When creating an application, you will come across a choice of the programming language. The best option is the native Swift language, created by Apple. In this article, we will talk about Swift and its features.

What is Swift

Swift is a programming language developed by Apple. It is a unique tool for creating mobile applications for iOS and macOS programs. Apple, creating Swift, integrated several languages to make it accessible even for beginners. It is because of this that it is so popular as the first language to learn.

Swift is a regular programming language: in its standard form, you first write the entire program, then compile it and run it. The compilation is the transformation of program code into technical code for the processor: the input was what the developer could read, and the output was what the computer could read. After compilation, you can no longer easily look into the program and change something in it; everything is encrypted and compressed there. But the processor processes such a program much faster than scripts.

Frame 2 19 1024x341 - Apple's programming language Swift

Swift has become a unique tool for creating mobile apps, opening new frontiers for programming. Application development has become much easier, more dynamic, more interesting. This was achieved thanks to modern functions and responsible patterns for process safety, as well as the use of well-known Cocoa and Cocoa Touch frameworks.

History of creating

Craig Federighi, Apple’s senior vice president of software development, noted that the foundation for the new Swift was laid back in the distant 90s in the NeXT platform – the predecessor of macOS and iOS.

In 2010, Chris Lattner began developing Swift and collaborated with Apple programmers. The inspiration for writing a convenient and understandable Swift language was Rust, Objective-C, Ruby, Haskell, C #, CLU, Python, and other programming languages.

So in 2014 at the Apple Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC), the company introduced the new, simple and modern programming language Swift. Before, Apple used Objective-C. Creating Swift, the company wanted to attract not only experienced developers who work with Objective-C but also beginners who take this opportunity and join the community of iOS developers. During the conference, Apple released a prototype language and made it available to registered developers.

Frame 2 20 1024x341 - Apple's programming language Swift

Also, at the conference, developers received a 500-page manual called the Swift Programming Language. Now it can be downloaded for free on the iBook and the official website of Apple Inc.

According to a study by Stack Overflow Developer Survey 2015, Swift won first place as “Favorite Programming Language.” In 2019, he was still in the top ten, ranking sixth.

In 2018, Swift entered the top ten most popular languages according to the version of the analytical company RedMonk, taking tenth place. In 2019, Swift was in the eleventh place in the ranking, dropping just one position.

For which devices can you write code with Swift

As we said, Swift is the native language for all Apple devices. Logically, it is primarily used to create applications on iOS, software for macOS, watchOS and even tvOS. Therefore, if you decide to start developing apps or software for Apple devices, Swift is your must-have for learning. Although cross-platform products can be used, but there is nothing better than a native language.

Well-known applications such as Procreate, Airbnb, LinkedIn, Yahoo Weather, Duolingo, Kickstarter, Vimeo, Twitter, Khan Academy were written with Swift and these are just a few examples.

Swift was the epitome of Apple engineering talent, combining the best of modern programming languages. It allows you to develop applications of any complexity: from elementary games to a complex operating system. Despite its popularity, the language has both advantages and disadvantages.

Frame 2 21 1024x341 - Apple's programming language Swift

Advantages of Swift

Performance

Swift developers wanted to achieve high-performance, especially the speed of programs and code execution. According to Apple, Swift is 2.6 times faster than Objective-C and 8 times faster than Python 2.7. The goal that Apple is striving for now is to make it faster than C ++, which is often recognized as the fastest programming language.

Free and open-source

Swift became open-source in 2015. This event greatly influenced the popularity of the language. You can start working with it absolutely for free, moreover, the company provides a detailed guide for working.

READ  How to create a native app
READ  How to create an educational app like Diksha

Visible Result and Training

For those who don’t have coding knowledge and who may think that serious literature is too difficult, Apple launched an iPad app called Swift Playgrounds. The app helps to learn the basics, giving the user simple puzzles. So learning complex programming becomes an exciting and interactive process.

Frame 2 24 1024x341 - Apple's programming language Swift

Also, the application allows you to conduct any experiments and see their result instantly without requiring the launch of the app. Sometimes this increases the development speed several times and helps to quickly deal with a problem part of the code.

Security

Another strength of Swift is its functional safety. This typed language allows programmers to quickly find errors before compiling and fix them. The developers proceeded from the fact that a programmer should not foresee every problematic situation, because a computer can do it for him. For example, you do not need to specifically monitor access and memory leak, because Swift takes care of it. Regular errors, for example, the language handles more efficiently than the competitor C ++ where each exception must be registered manually.

Good readability

Apple loves minimalism in everything. Swift allows you to solve the problem with a minimum number of code lines. It is an easy-to-read language, just like Python, but with curly braces instead of an indentation. Such code is easy to read even by those who do not know Swift but know any other programming language. Everything in it is logical and structured.

Compatibility

Thanks to the integration with the Objective-C library (Objective-C Runtime Library), you can write programs in Swift, Objective-C, and C ++ at the same time.

Automatic memory management

Automatic reference counting monitors and manages application memory on its own, reducing development time. Now developers do not need to do this on their own.

Frame 2 26 1024x341 - Apple's programming language Swift

Potential

Swift is a relatively young language. Thanks to Swift’s open-source code, Apple took a step towards making it cross-platform. Apple also promises that Swift will be available on Windows. The tech giant IBM has also greatly contributed to the development of the language. The company introduced the Swift test environment and gave it access to the cloud. Thus, the server-side of Swift can be integrated with many server tools.

Libraries

Swift has 74 built-in functions, but developers sometimes lack them. This is where third-party frameworks from the Swift library come to the rescue. They save time by offering off-the-shelf code for the components of your application.

Disadvantages of Swift

Frequent updates

Swift was introduced to the world in 2014 and it’s still quite young compared to Objective-C, which has existed since the 1980s. After each update, developers need to learn new material to work with. But, looking at the wider picture, Swift is limited to its own libraries, tools and is doomed to be unstable after an update.

Compatibility

This is not only a big plus but also a minus. Compatibility with Objective-C and C ++ greatly slows down the process of developing applications and software.

Developers

Since Swift is a new language, compared to giants such as JavaScript or C #, finding a good developer with experience is not so easy. Although the Swift community is growing rapidly, it is still significantly smaller than any other open-source language. According to the latest StackOverflow developer survey, only 6.6 percent of 87,354 respondents use Swift.

Frame 2 25 1024x341 - Apple's programming language Swift

Due to the fact that there are not many really talented Swift developers, the cost of their work increases. North America has the highest hourly pay for developers. The cost of developing for iOS can reach up to $200 per hour. If you want to find a qualified developer, check out our article in which we talk about the intricacies of choosing local and remote developers.

Conclusions

Now there is nothing better than Swift for developing products on iOS. Is it worth it to study? Definitely yes. This language will be a great start for beginners due to its simplicity and given the fact that there are not so many personnel in this area. Experienced developers will also find it easy with Swift because they took the best features of many popular languages for it. Having weighed the pros and cons, we can say that Swift has a great future ahead and a wide audience of users.